Facebook Logo Twitter Logo Pinterest Logo Nut Gourmet Blog Logo
only search Vegetarians in Paradise
VIP Bird
VIP Banner
Fill out your e-mail address to receive our newsletter!
*E-mail address:
*First Name:
Last Name:
Please let us know your location for special events:
USA:
Los Angeles:
International
(Outside USA):
Subscribe Unsubscribe
 



***************************************

Vegan for the Holidays


Click Here for Special Purchase Price


Contents
.

Translate This Page

sphere Homepage

sphere News from the Nest

sphere Vegan for the Holidays Blog

sphere Vegan for the Holidays Videos

sphere Zel Allen's NutGourmet Blog

About Us

Cookbooks

Food History/Nutrition/Recipes

sphere On the Highest Perch

Awards

Nutrition Information

Los Angeles Resources

Cooking Tips/Recipes

Guest Contributors

Books/Media Reviews

Directories

sphere Archive Index

sphere Contact Us

*Privacy Policy: When you subscribe to Vegetarians in Paradise (vegetarian e-zine) your email address will not be sold or rented, and will only be used to let you know in an email what's new in our monthy web magazine.

All the world is nuts about

    What's in The Nut Gourmet

The Nutty Gourmet

Vegetarians in Paradise
Vegetarianism in the News


May 1, 2006 -- Vegparadise News Bureau

Editors' Note: Because vegans are concerned about consuming beverages that contain or are made with animal ingredients, Vegetarians in Paradise is reprinting the following article that originally appeared in Vegetarian News March/April 2006 published by VegetarianDallas. We are grateful to Shirley Wilkes-Johnson and Ben Johnson for permitting us to share this valuable information with our readers.

Vegan Wines & Other Alcoholic Beverages

By Shirley Wilkes-Johnson and Ben Johnson

Vegans (pronounced VEE-guns) are VEGetariANs who are careful not to put any animal ingredients into or onto their bodies, including meat, dairy, eggs, leather, fur, etc. Most vegans don't want animal products to touch their food. They are savvy about things such as white sugar that is bleached by running it through the charred bones of slaughtered animals and casein, a glue-like milk protein that is added to many soy cheeses to cause them to melt like dairy cheeses.

Many vegans enjoy drinking wine and other alcoholic beverages, not realizing that they are often clarified by using a fining agent such as casein, egg whites, isinglass (fish bladders), gelatin and, at one time, even blood. Questionable amounts may remain in wine clarified by these methods. One may think it is inconsequential but gelatin is a suspected carrier of mad cow prions, the almost indestructible infectious agent of Mad Cow disease. Gelatin is produced by prolonged boiling of animal skin and connective tissue.

Beer and other alcoholic beverages also may not be vegan for the same reasons.

As the number of vegans grows worldwide, there is a growing demand for vegan wine. Vegan fining agents are available such as bentonite, a silica clay product, and some wine vintages do not require fining. Also, newer methods such as centrifuging and filtering are becoming more popular.

It can be difficult to learn which wines are vegan, as many wine companies buy wine from different sources and blend their wines. Some wineries list vegan wines only by certain vintages (or year) that are too numerous to list in this article. See the websites below to learn more about specific vintages.

Although we have verified the information in this article as well as possible, we cannot be held responsible for its veracity as larger companies and corporations are playing Monopoly with the world and are gobbling up smaller businesses and changing the rules. If you have a favorite beverage that is not listed here, we recommend that you call the company and ask if their product is vegan, or change to one that is. Our purpose is to list a few wines, beers and spirits so that vegans have some vegan choices. The information in this article was gathered from vegetarian/vegan web sites, wineries, brewmeisters, etc.

Texas Vegan Wines

  • Ste. Genevieve
  • Peregrine Hill (owned by Ste. Genevieve)
  • Messina Hof
  • Flat Creek Estates (white wines only are vegan)
  • (Fall Creek is NOT vegan)

Organic Vegan Wines

Note: Organic wines are not necessarily vegan.

  • Frey Vineyards (openly promote their wines as vegan)
  • Fetzer (some are organic) white wines only are vegan (some red vintages are vegan)
  • The Organic Wine Works (some vegan ) Look at Whole Foods Market, Organic Wine Works vegan wines say "Vegan" or "Vegan Man!" on the label!

Other Vegan Wines

  • Yellow Tail red wine from Australia is fast becoming a very popular wine widely available in the U.S. Yellow Tail white wines are not vegan because they use gelatin in the finishing process.
  • Peter Lehmann (Red wines only are vegan)
  • La Cantina wines from Australia
  • Kokopelli Wines (currently only available in Arizona, or online http://www.kokopelliwinery.com/

Vegan Champagne

  • Dom Perignon Champagne
  • Moet & Chandon Champagne

Vegan Port

    All ports, except crusted port, are fined using gelatin.
    Port is a fortified wine blended with spirits and is usually not vegan.
    However, we found one slightly pricey (at $26 a bottle) organic vegan port, Casal dos Jordoes Port available at selected sources such as The Organic Wine Company: http://www.ecowine.com

Vegan Beer

Beers are processed in many of the same ways as wine, often using isinglass to filter the end product.

  • Heineken
  • Miller Brewing Company (all beers vegan)
  • Samuel Adams (except for the varieties that contain honey)
  • Shiner (except for the varieties that contain honey)
  • Moosehead

Vegan Spirits

  • Cointreau
  • Grand Marnier
  • Jack Daniel's
  • Jim Beam Bourbon
  • Kahlua
  • Malibu Rum
  • Southern Comfort
  • Skyy Vodka
  • Smirnoff Vodka
  • Gilbey's Gin
  • Sapphire Gin
  • Jose Cuervo Tequila
  • J&B Rare Whisky (also J&B Scotch Whisky)
For more detailed vegan wine lists:
http://vegans.frommars.org/wine/
http://www.vinceremos.co.uk
http://www.ecowine.com


Click here for News from the Nest Index


Vegetarians in Paradise

Homepage sphere Los Angeles Events Calendar sphere Our Mission sphere The Nut Gourmet sphere Vegan for the Holidays sphere Vegetarian Survival Kit sphere News from the Nest sphere Recipe Index sphere Los Angeles Vegetarian Restaurants sphere Vegetarian Basics 101 sphere Protein Basics sphere Calcium Basics sphere Ask Aunt Nettie sphere VeggieTaster Report sphere Vegetarian Reading sphere VegParadise Bookshelf sphereHeirloom Gardening sphere Cooking with Zel sphere Dining in Paradise sphere Cooking Beans & Grains sphere On the Highest Perch sphere Road to Vegetaria sphere Words from Other Birds sphere Using Your Bean sphere Ask the Vegan Athlete sphere Vegetarian Holiday Meals sphere Great Produce Hunt sphere Farmers' Markets sphere Natural Food Markets sphere Vegetarian Associations Directory sphere Links We Love sphere VegParadise Yellow Pages sphere Media Reviews sphere 24 Carrot Award sphere Vegetarian Food Companies sphere Archive Index sphere Contact Us

© 1999-2014 vegparadise.com